By Whose Standards Are You Measuring Up To?


My life is good now! Yes, I still go through storms and I’m challenged quite often. But for the most part, things are going fairly well.

However looking back I couldn’t see how great my life was. I developed an insatiable attitude towards most things. So, I write this brief blog to ask you one major question…”By Whose Standards Are You Measuring?” I have been in (what to me) has seemed like a very long storm in my life. I have been hit with a great number of losses over the past several years. And I listened to my friends say, I don’t understand why this is happening to you. Honestly, I even asked myself that many times. Because at the time, I looked at others who I felt didn’t work hard enough or weren’t as grateful as I felt they should be and it appeared that they were the ones who had the most “stuff” or “things”. And they didn’t appear to ever have any hardships or their trials seemed to be only for a minute, while mine seemed to last forever and a day.

Now by no means was I wallowing in self-pity. But it did start to tear away at my spirit a little. Because I had it all wrong and I’m here to tell you, SO DO YOU! Society tells you that you aren’t successful unless you’re making at least a 6 figure salary. Society tells us that if you aren’t owning your home and driving a specific type car, you aren’t successful. You’re a nobody, until the somebody in your community knows you by first name. The world tells you that your address dictates what type of person you are and what type of potential you have and that’s false too.

We add unnecessary pressure to our lives by trying to live up to the world’s standards. And we make ourselves miserable, when we don’t live up to those expectations. Well, I’m here to tell you that you are beautiful and God does love you regardless of where you are. And the only standards you should be striving to live up to are those set by Jesus!

Are you living or striving to live according to Jesus? Are you loving your neighbors and practicing the art of forgiveness, as Jesus instructed? Yesterday, I posted a scripture on my Facebook (Matthew 6:19-21 Lay not up for yourselves treasure upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal: But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal: For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.) Our focus should be on where we will spend eternity. The few years we live here on earth are miniscule compared to eternity.

In one of the last phone conversations I had with my late grandma, she mentioned how she was happy that I was networking to aid in the creation of opportunities for myself. But she told me that the greatest network connection I would ever want and need to have is the connection with Jesus. I’ll never forget that! And she was so right. That’s the greatest piece of wisdom she could share. Because it really doesn’t matter which CEO or President knows you. They can’t do anything unless Jesus allows it. Jesus always and forever holds the power to change hearts and minds. He’s the one who has the power to do ALL things, (Luke 1:37 “For nothing will be impossible with God”). So take the time to do some serious reflecting today. Yeah, it may seem that you’re doing greater than or less than your neighbor. But the real question is…How do you stand according to His word?

God bless you on your journey.

2 thoughts on “By Whose Standards Are You Measuring Up To?

Leave a Reply

