My Day Without Worship Service


Although the day has beautifully shined through my window, I can tell how important my relationship with God and assembling with the saints is to me. Every now and then, because of a medical condition I am forced to stay in bed with my feet up. The severe effects of my illness doesn’t really last but about 24-36 hours. But trust me it’s a horrible 24 – 36 hours.

Anyhow, I feel so lost when I don’t attend my regular Sunday worship service.  My Sundays aren’t truly complete without it. But I know that God understands why I wasn’t able to attend service today. However, I’m so appreciative of my church family who recognizes when I’m missing and calls to check in on me.

But most importantly, Church is the place I can go to get the spiritual nourishment I will need to help me through the upcoming week. It’s a place where we’re able to study God’s word and honestly talk about specific scriptures to make sure we’re worshipping in spirit and in truth (John 4:23-24).  It’s so important because, unfortunately we’re living in the days of false prophets and people creating religious sectors that will only tell you part of the truth. The trouble with that is, if you’re only getting part of the truth you’re not getting the WHOLE truth. And there’s huge danger in it.

Today I spent most of the day in prayer and meditating on his word. But I’m prayerful that come next Sunday I’ll be there. I need it and while I try to have daily independent study of the Word, I understand that I shouldn’t lean on my own understanding (Proverb 3:5). Because there is a way that seems right to man, but really leads to death (Proverb 14:12). So the question is, how important is worship to you? Does your place of worship give you the whole truth? Do they encourage study that allows you to ask your questions? I challenge you to openly and honestly answer these questions! Your soul depends on it.

In Christian love,

Leave a Reply

