Book Review: The Ugly Side of Sex by Dk. Walker


 

DK Walker, Author of "The Ugly Side of Sex"

It’s amazing how God always makes greatness happen out of not-so-great situations. Several weeks ago I was added to a private group on Facebook. I still haven’t figured out who happened to add me. However the topics of discussions that took place in the group varied and some of the topics admittedly may have been quite taboo to most. However after being able to correspond and interact within the group, I found that there were about a handful that I could actually see myself forging a good relationship with outside of the virtual group and started communicating regularly.

One of those people is Mr. Dk Walker the author of “The Ugly Side of Sex”. As an aspiring writer for television (it’s been a dream in my head for years), I am always drawn to writers and eager to hear their process. I know from experience in blogging that it’s not always easy to put pen to pad and write great work. But his greatest piece of advice to me was to write with an honest vein and stay true to your work. And from the very first page of The Ugly Side of Sex, I believe he’s done just that.

The Ugly Side of Sex

This book takes you to the dark, ugly side of Sex. Honestly, if this book were turned into a movie, I think it would deeply caution young adults and even not so young adults about the damage sex can cause, outside of it’s intended place (in the marriage). Toward’s the end of the book, I couldn’t help but to feel deeply saddened for Nicholas, the main character of the book. It’s because of other’s actions, that he had an insatiable drive for the ultimate rush that he’d never truly reach. There’s so many lessons to learn from this book, that I won’t even attempt to write them down.

While many of the scenes are graphically depicted, I think it’s necessary, yet tastefully done so that you can truly experience the depths of sexual addiction. And don’t let the number of pages, scare you. The story flows so well, that you won’t even realize that you’re nearing the end.

To sum it up, I really challenge anyone to add this book to your collection. I’m sure some will deem it unnecessary. But as for me, this book strike a personal chord within me. It makes me think about the cause and effect we have on others in our lives. How one’s mistakes or obsessions with various temptations even as a teen can wreak the worst of havoc on someone else for years and years to come. Sexual addiction is definitely a real disease that affects millions of people every year and you can be certain their is a root. But it’s not a battle that can not be won. No temptationhas overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted,he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it (1st Corinthians 10:13).

May God bless you and keeep you!

Tanisha Rankins

Tanisha Rankins reading her copy of The Ugly Side of Sex

To Purchase a Copy of The Ugly Side of Sex…

For more information on where to get help with sexual addiction

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Ugly Side of Sex by Dk. Walker

  1. I truly enjoy your writing, mainly because it’s always fresh and thought provoking no matter what the topic of the day might be.

    With any addiction, the most important thing is acknowledgement first, seeking support and finally the healing process… I am glad DK shared his story as it takes a brave person to share their deep and dark secrets.

    Keep putting the pen to the paper T… I can smell success right around the corner.

    Sylvia

    • Sylvia,
      Thanks so much for dropping by and checking out my review of the book. I enjoy writing, but honestly had gotten stuck for a minute. However, after reading this book, I just had to get the word out about this jewel that DK has written.

      I hope and pray that I’ll continue to be truly inspired to write. It’s something that I’m passionate about. And you’re right, slowly but surely I’m on my way:)

      Take care,

      Tanisha

  2. I’ll accept your challenge and add the book to my reading list, but I think it’s a bit of a leap from sex outside of marriage, or even casual sex to sexual addiction. Like alcoholism it is an illness and I think it’s a bit dismissive of that illness to suggest to young people that it’s an illness caused by having it outside of marriage. I think that misinforming young people about sex is in itself very damaging.

    • I appreciate your comments, as well as you adding the book to your reading list. And forgive me if my wording was a bit misleading. But I’m not trying to suggest to young people that having sex outside of marriage will mean sexual addiction. But I do think that we should be talking to them about the importance of doing it the right way, as God intended. And in the world that we live it, I personally don’t feel that that message is heard much at all. But I do think this book shows that there is a down side to sex too. Thanks again for your comment. And please let me know what you think about the book once you’ve read it.

Leave a Reply

