Why Predicting the End of the World Isn’t Beneficial


I guess you could say that I’m somewhat removed from the media most days now. With a new opportunity brewing for me, I’ve been consumed with making sure that I say on top of my game. Television and radio has taken a huge back burner in my life, and I can’t say I’m sad about it. So when I was told yesterday (Friday, May 19, 2011) that someone had predicted the end of the world was Saturday. I couldn’t do anything but laugh.

See first of all, I understand that there will be an end of the world. But as a Christian, who is working diligently to follow Christ I have read the scripture Matthew 24: 34 – 36 which says, 34“Truly I say to you, this generation will not pass away until all these things take place.35“Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words will not pass away.36“But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone. Even in Mark 13:32 which reads, “But of that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone.” This means even Jesus himself doesn’t know the day or hour that the world will end. So, why would I actually believe that a man will know the definite day and hour that the end of the world will be. If God would send Jesus the only person to walk the earth and not sin, and undertake the task of dying for our sins, but not even share with him the day or hour the world would end….why on earth would I believe that anyone else would know?

To me it was absurd, to stress over that definite day. The idea of the end of the day approaching isn’t absurd to me. But the danger in a person or group actually pinpointing a specific date, is that this is what they’ll always be synonomous for. If there was a tangible message that will need to be delivered in the future, most would not listen for this reason alone. It actually makes them foolish and questionable. To be honest, the scripture that comes to mind is Matthew 7:15 “Beware of false prophets who come disguised as harmless sheep but are really vicious wolves.” In my opinion, they clearly have the wrong part of the message to be delivered.

As I grow closer to Christ, I understand that because no one will know the date/hour of the end, every moment of my life is important to me. We need to be making sure that our hearts/minds/lives are in the right condition for when the real time of earth’s passing. I need to be and remain faithful until death. One thing is certain, whether the earth comes to it’s end, we’re certain to die regardless.

If the person who started this crazy gossip of the world’s end were really concerned about people, he would have provided them God’s clear plan of salvation which is…

Hear: Romans 10:17 “So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.”

Believe: John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Repent: Acts 2:38 “Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.”

Confess: Romans 10:10 “For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness; and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”

Be Baptized: Mark 16:16 “He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.”

Share the message: Mark 16:15 “And he said to them, Go you into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.”

So to those who may have actually believed Mr. Harold Camping (apparently the culprit of this mess), sorry you were misinformed. But hopefully by reading my blog, you have been exposed to the truth. We shouldn’t be as concerned with the End of the World as we are the end of our lives…that is a definite that we’ll all bear witness to. To Mr. Camping, you should probably re-read my blog so that you can start sharing the Real message of Christ to people, instead of trying to scare them into your warped sense of thinking, Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart; and lean not to your own understanding.” To all others, I hope you learn and appreciate my Savvy Two Cents and are in someway blessed by it!

Love to all,

Tanisha Rankins

2 thoughts on “Why Predicting the End of the World Isn’t Beneficial

  1. The creator of the Universe does not put the destiny of 3 billion people in the hands of a few be they Christian, Buddists etc or any other HUMANs trying to play GOD lightly.The images of the end of the planet come from a people who were not even aware that we were even on a planet. On this side of the planet we feel we make the calls for all humans, this is playing God and unfortunately we use sacred scripture to try to justify our lack of trusting God to continue life. What they meant by earth in those days in greek or aramaic is not the same as we think today. Yes the planet will have earthquakes, floods and storms like it has always had this is just change so life can be reborn. I trust God as Infinite Mind brings us through so we can better see that life was created to change and transform as the Creator sees it. This we must trust, not one person saying they know the destiny of the entire planet. Jesus’s two great commandment are our greatest guide these are his words that will never pass if we live these every day.

Leave a Reply

