My Dedication to My Dad


I can’t help but to think about all the memories I have with my daddy. But it’s not something that I had to wait for a special day to talk about. Those closest to me, know what a great relationship he and I shared. Things always seemed to be better when dad said they’d be. Breakups seemed to be more bearable after a talk with dad, which consisted of him telling me how great of a loss they’d have to endure, after losing me. (And he’s the only person I believed when they said it. Sorry girlfriends:))

My dad was my greatest cheerleader and he always pushed me to be the best I could be. And he always stood his ground, which I couldn’t do anything but respect. And he’s set the standard for the men who come into my life and hope to give me their last name. My daddy’s love was unconditional. When I messed up, punishment was distributed. But it was always delivered in the greatest of love. I can’t remember a day when my dad didn’t ever work. So my future husband will have to a hardworker and a great provider. A loving and devoted father.

One of the greatest memories I have with my dad was when I was very little. I believe I was about 4 or so. But we’d always go to the neighborhood store for hand-packed ice cream (for those tried and true people of the country you know what that is). They always made the cones too big, so my dad habitually would lick the sides to make sure it was stable enough for me to handle. This particular day, I would insist that he not lick the sides. With my dad trying to assure me that he needed to lick the sides, I still refused. I remember heading to the truck as we were walking in the parking lot and I licked the side of my ice cream. The ice cream tipped over and fell to the ground. I looked down at the ice cream that was laying on the pavement and I looked up at my daddy. To which he said, “Just come on.” and he put me in the truck while I held on to the lonely cone. Needless to say, I welcomed him securing my future cones! LOL!!! Tough love some might say. I say it was necessary. Maybe that’s why I learned to adhere to his every word. Because I knew he was always looking out for my best interest.

When I became pregnant last year, I wanted nothing more than to give my child a piece of my father, despite my dad not being around to witness it. So regardless, I had decided to name my child regardless of the sex (Hunter), which was my dad’s middle name. On September 26, 2011 when I have birth to my son, I knew I was going to name him Hunter. And when I lost Hunter after 9 hours, I was certain that my dad was there next to Hunter holding his hand and letting him know things would be just fine.

It’s the least I could do to show my love and support for having such an amazing, loving, hardworking, dedicated, devoted, some times underappreciated dad in my beautiful loving life! These mere words are just a minor fraction of my love for him.

Happy Father’s Day, Robert Hunter Rankins!!! You will never be forgotten by me.

Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful dads who willingly and often times are under valued in the lives of those they love! But trust and believe, the impact you have on your children is astounding. I’m a living witness!

7 thoughts on “My Dedication to My Dad

  1. Your daddy would be so proud of you. I’m sorry he passed. I was sad to read you lost a child. That is so very painful. I hope you are able to try and have another child. I have been reading your web site and you are truly inspiring. A true testiment to the American spirit. I wish you all the success in the world. God bless you and yours.

    Matthew Lind

    • Thanks so much for the kind words. I’m thankful that you took the time to read some of my posts. They’re near and dear to me. I love God. And only want to do the best for him.

      May God bless you too!!!

    • Thanks so sweet. I really appreciate your kind words. Even though, I lost my child, I still feel so blessed to be the vessel to give him life, even if it were only for a few hours. Thanks again for taking the time to read my posts.
      God bless you!!!

  2. And I’m sorry to read about your loss…my condolences. You are right, Hunter was guided home by your dad. Sending you virtual hugs and love.

Leave a Reply

