Why I Am the Way I Am


First of all, I could give the generic, often given answer which would be true. I’m talking about the “God made me this way” statement that people use to justify all the deviant and bad things they do. But I strive to see the glass half full. So I’m choosing today to speak about the positive aspects of me, which God did create and place within myself. But the truth to the matter is God gives us ALL choices in life. Our paths, whether smooth or bumpy, long or short, are all based on the decisions we make in life.

Last year, I remember going into a gas station and I spoke to the attendant. There was a lady standing next to the cashier who says to me, “Are you always this happy?”. Initially my guard went up, because I knew she was trying to be condescending, as if to say she didn’t believe I was real. But my response to her was simply, ” Yes. Why shouldn’t I be?” She didn’t have any rebuttle to my statement, to which I simply bidded both of them a good day and returned to my car.

I’m happy because I choose to be happy. I’m resilient, because I refuse to allow the devil or anything else keep me down. It is true that God has to add the increase (1st Corinthians 3:6). But the Bible also says, “Faith without works is dead.” (James 2:26). So, I wouldn’t be this way without the effort I put into it. I am in no way saying this with arrogant and puffed up pride. Because indeed, I know that I can’t do this alone. I know where my strength comes from. But you have to be willing to let it fill you up.

The pain, grief, strife (stuff that everyone of us endures) is what has contributed to the smiles you see. I choose to see them as polish to make me shine brighter everyday. I serve an awesome God, one who gave his only son so that we may have the opportunity for salvation. That alone is worth choosing to see good and striving to be obedient to his word. This doesn’t mean that I don’t fall short. But I don’t let it get me down. I get back up, dust myself off, and try it again…calling on his strength every step of the way.

I hope that you will find the courage and wherewithall to choose to do the right thing too. Accept God in, understanding that you can’t do it at all without him. And you can’t do it all with him. But it’s certainly a lot better to have him to lean on when things get tough. Just a thought, get to know Jesus.

Happy Sunday and Much love,

Tanisha

2 thoughts on “Why I Am the Way I Am

Leave a Reply

