Why I’m Thanking Netflix for Their New Price Increase


Netflix

For nearly 8 years, I’ve been a faithful Netflix customer. When I became a member the only option was to receive your videos by mail, because watching videos online, hadn’t really caught a hold. I initially set my account up to do 3 movies out at once, unlimited rentals per month, which I think was around $11.99 a month at the time. I later realized that 3 movies was more than I could actually watch in a month and down graded to the $3.99 a month plan for unlimited rentals a month, with only 1 movie out at a time. This was perfect for me.

The movies came on time. Sometimes I’d go 2-3 months at a time without watching the one movie I held out. But nonetheless, the $4.00 a month didn’t seem like a big deal to me, so I kept on with such. Fast forward to a few years ago, when they introduced the ability to watch movies online unlimited and keep one movie out at the time by mail for unlimited rentals a month for $9.99 a month. They had increased their rates, but still $9.99 seemed like a great value for what you get. However, I still found that I was keeping that 1 movie out for months at a time before I even tried to watch it. What I watched online was simply television programs that I barely had time to watch or were a season or 2 older to play catch up on.

So when I received the new increase notice in my email box stating the following….

Dear Tanisha,

We are separating unlimited DVDs by mail and unlimited streaming into two separate plans to better reflect the costs of each. Now our members have a choice: a streaming only plan, a DVD only plan, or both.

Your current $9.99 a month membership for unlimited streaming and unlimited DVDs will be split into 2 distinct plans:

Plan 1: Unlimited Streaming (no DVDs) for $7.99 a month
Plan 2: Unlimited DVDs, 1 out at-a-time (no streaming) for $7.99 a month

Your price for getting both of these plans will be $15.98 a month ($7.99 + $7.99). You don’t need to do anything to continue your memberships for both unlimited streaming and unlimited DVDs.

These prices will start for charges on or after September 1, 2011.

You can easily change or cancel your unlimited streaming plan, unlimited DVD plan, or both, by going to the Plan Change page in Your Account.

We realize you have many choices for home entertainment, and we thank you for your business. As always, if you have questions, please feel free to call us at 1-888-357-1516.

–The Netflix Team

 

I instantly grew upset. But then I came back to my senses. Netflix has been indeed becoming more and more profitable off of customers like myself, who don’t really take advantage of the money that they spend every month.  At nearly $10 a month, I should have been watching videos every day. And for the most part, the only thing I had been taking advantage of was catching up on all the episodes of “King of the Hill” that I missed out on. (I absolutely loved that show). But I have had a dvd in my living room that I haven’t even thought about watching for almost 2 months now.

Wasted money!!! So at the end of this month, I’ve decided to discontinue my business with Netflix. It’s been a great 8 years, but it’s since ran it’s course with me. I think that I could save myself over a $100 and establishing a Redbox account where I can purchase the 1 movie that I will take the time to watch for $1.oo and can pick up while I’m out shopping and return it the following day. (It will sharpen my responsibility skills, nonetheless).

So I want to take the time to say thanks Netflix for increasing my budget by over $100 a year and I’m certain productivity (since I won’t be watching much online anymore) by much, much more! It’s greatly appreciated. And En El Publishing (www.En-El-Publishing.com) appreciates it too:)

Sincerely,

 

Tanisha’s Savvy Two Cents

2 thoughts on “Why I’m Thanking Netflix for Their New Price Increase

    • Yes, it is! They’re only hurting themselves. I just needed an excuse to cut back on something that wasn’t that important to begin with. Thanks for the comment:)

Leave a Reply

