Gone Too Soon: Andy Whitfield Dies at 39


If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you probably know that I fell in love with STARZ show, Spartacus last year. Actor Andy Whitfield graced the stage as a gladiator by the name of Spartacus and my heart was stolen. In addition to his chiseled abs of steel and glaring blue eyes, his acting was so uncontrollably convincing without over acting, something you don’t really see translated very well on television anymore.

I watched every episode nearly twice a week and when it came out online, I rewatched those as well. So I guess you could say I was obsessed. I had never had a true television crush, but all was changed when I saw Andy Whitfield for the first time. I suddenly became like a doe-eyed teenager and envisioned my world with him fighting for my love in the field of blood, sweat and sand. So, you can imagine how unbelievably hurt I was when I saw People magazine, post the death of Andy Whitfield at 39 (http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20527387,00.html) on one of the most emotional days of the year…9/11.

He died of non-Hodgkin lymphoma, which he had announced having back in early 2010. My heart goes out to his family, children, and adoring fans such as myself who are deeply hurt and saddened by this truly tragic loss. Spartacus will never be the same without him.

Leave a Reply

