I Was Here


Over the last couple days, the world has lost some legendary people. From Fred Shuttlesworth who diligently and tirelessly worked for racial equality of black people, to Derrick Bell, the first black person to become a tenured professor at Harvard Law School, and also worked for civil rights, and lastly Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple who revolutioned technology as we’ve never seen it before. I was easily moved to think about the legacy that I’m setting out to create and the impact I want to have on the world.

I’m a member of a group on Facebook, Major Changes, which has challenged us to set goals and create a vision board for the future we want to create. My mission statement for the last several years has always been “Diligently serving Christ and helping others to create positive outcomes from negative experiences.” And I’ve deemed it to be successful thus far. Sincer I created the mission statement for myself, I created a blog, to help those who were thrown into divorce unwillingly, entitled…Divorced…But Not By Choice (www.isurvivedadivorce.wordpress.com). And through that forum, I’ve made some really great relationships from people all over the world (the farthest being South Africa) who have positively overcome the horrible experience of divorce. Additionally, I’ve been able to help self-published authors get more exposure and get closer to attaining their dreams.

Lastly, I’ve earned a position with Alabama State University’s Southern Normal campus, as a computer instructor, teaching my students how to effectively utilize the computer and the applications within it.

God has blessed me with amazing talents and yet, I still feel as though I have more to use. I still feel that my impact isn’t felt in the areas, where I feel they should matter the most. I purchased Beyonce’s album 4 and my favorite song on it is one titled, “I Was Here”.  The lyrics spoke to me loud and clear, so much so I couldn’t help but get a little emotional on my 1.5 hour drive home.

The lyrics are as follows…

I wanna leave my footprints on the sands of time
Know there was something that, and something that I left behind
When I leave this world, I’ll leave no regrets
Leave something to remember, so they won’t forget

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

I want to say I lived each day, until I died
I know that I had something in, somebody’s life
The hearts I have touched, will be the proof that I leave
That I made a difference, and this world will see

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know

I was here…

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

I just want them to know
That I gave my all, did my best
Brought someone to hapiness
Left this world a little better just because…

I was here…

I was here…
I lived, I loved
I was here…
I did, I’ve done, everything that I wanted
And it was more than I thought it would be
I will leave my mark so everyone will know
I was here…

It made me question, have I left a mark heavy enough and deep enough so that people know that I was here? And how will I know? What will people remember me for? What stories will people choose to tell when all my breath has ceased? And am I creating positive experiences for all who come in contact with me?

They’re great questions to consider when you’re discovering your purpose and determining what you want people to remember you for. Over lunch my manager shared a newsletter that she received from a member of her association, National Association of Women on the Rise (NAWR) (http://nawomenrise.com). In the newsletter, was a quote that read, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, “I used everything you gave me.” ~ Erma Bombeck.

I can’t think of anything else, I’d like more either. And diligently, I work to be able to say this too. Because I certainly want those that I come in contact with and leave behind to know that I was indeed here. But honestly, after I’m gone, i won’t be able to change anything about the outcome. So, I guess it’s safe to say that I am going to be living each day to the fullest, so that all I come in contact with will most importantly know…. I AM HERE!

Just my Savvy Two Cents!

Be blessed!!!

2 thoughts on “I Was Here

  1. Brilliant post and thank you for taking the time to add the lyrics to the song… It has been an incredible week with the passing of such giants. May they all rest in peace. TY! 🙂

    • Thanks so much! Aren’t the lyrics of Beyonce’s song inspirational? I’m so in amazement and wonder what great things are meant for me to achieve. How can I make my mark on the world?

Leave a Reply

