My Personal Pit & Peak of 2011


In less than 3 hours,we’ll be bidding adios to the year of 2011 and welcoming 2012 with open arms. It that time of the year when everyone is evaluating their year and setting new or recycled resolutions for the new year. While I only made one resolution so far (which is to be more healthy), I couldn’t help but reflect on what some of my greatest challenges in 2011 were and what were the greatest surprises that the year brought as well.

 

THE PIT

My loving Grandma, Mary Daniels :Oct. 9, 1933 - Jan. 8, 2011

There’s no doubt that the pit of 2011 rolled in shortly after the year began when my grandmother passed away from her battle with cancer on January 8, 2011. It was a huge pill to swallow especially since she was the cornerstone of our family. Not to mention, she was the only grandmother that I ever got to know and spend my summers with. There wasn’t anything we couldn’t speak about, so the fact that I’d no longer have that experience shook my world and the rest of my family’s world, as well. However, her legacy that lies within all of us, will live on! In her memory, I actually participated in the Relay for Life Walk this year. And one of my goals, will be to participate in Peddling for a Cure too.

THE PEAK

One of my Computer Applications Classes- Summer 2011

There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ve always tried to use the talents that God gives me to the best of my ability. However, in 2011 God provided me with an opportunity that I didn’t see coming and revealed talents that I didn’t even know existed within me and would prove to stir emotions in me that I’d never forget. I’m speaking about my teaching computer applications classes to adults at Alabama State University’s Southern Normal Campus in Brewton, AL. It started in July and ended in September. I initially thought my purpose was to bless them with the knowledge and skills that I possessed. However, I realized I’d been blessed by their presence. They were really hungry to get the skills they knew would help them get back into the workforce. And I learned to love them all!!! They shared their lives with me. I learned their personalities so well and used it to push them in the direction they needed. God really opened my eyes to how rewarding a career in education could be and it didn’t always have to be working with children. I’m always going to remember my first teaching job. And I’m happy to say that I’ve been asked to teach another class in the spring.

The bottom line is the year has posed it’s own set of challenges, as every year surely does. But it’s truly what you make of it! I solely welcome all that 2012 has to offer and I pray each and every one of you a very healthy and prosperous New Year!

Signing off with my last post of the year….

Tanisha’s Savvy Two Cents

4 thoughts on “My Personal Pit & Peak of 2011

Leave a Reply

