I Guess There’s No More Need For Introductions



As I sit here looking at my facebook list of friend requests (exactly 32) that have been sitting out there for a year or so now. I’m left with the task of asking, “Who are these people?” or “How do I know them?”. Some I have mutual friends, some I don’t. Some of them I’ve seen in passing, but doesn’t necessarily mean that I know enough about them to be certain I’d like to add them to the people I broadcast information to about me and my wear-a-bouts daily.

Honestly, my life is pretty much an open book. At least I keep telling myself that, until someone asks me my weight (LOL)! And I don’t think that I have anything that I feel I couldn’t replace by starting a new profile should someone maliciously want to hack my page (heaven forbid). But the greatest problem I have with friend requests from people that I’ve never really had any interactions with outside of facebook or within any of the facebook groups I’m a part of, is the blatant disregard for an introduction.

Let’s face it. If you were to approach someone in person, an introduction would be necessary, whether formal or informal. For instance, typically I meet people all day long. In my line of business, I consider myself a professional networker:) I get paid to build and bridge connections. So, in order to do those things, I have get to know people. Sometimes the best way is to informally F.O.R.D. them. F.O.R.D. stands for (family, occupation, recreation and dreams). It’s an tip I learned in my real estate experience when you’re trying to pick up potential buyers and sellers. People are naturally prone to speak about anyone of them and you can learn so much about how you can be mutually beneficial to each other.

The same can be applied by just informally introducing yourself to someone you’ve never really spoken to and are requesting special access to their pages. I try to make it a habit of introducing myself to all that I don’t know and even some that I haven’t had the pleasure of speaking with in a while to refresh their memories. And I think it’s important to reintroduce this little bit of insight that will prepare us for the formal atmosphere that’s returning in the work environment, as well. The days of easy are phasing out. It’s going to be necessary to re-condition ourselves for a changing future.

So spread the word. And the word is COURTESY!

Just Tanisha’s Savvy Two Cents

2 thoughts on “I Guess There’s No More Need For Introductions

  1. I hear you and wonder about the same thing too. I can understand connecting like that on Twitter and YouTube but not on Facebook.
    ♥Happy ♥New ♥Year ♥To ♥You. 🙂

Leave a Reply

