Dedication of a Mom: Vanessa C. Rankins


Me and my mommy at age 2

There’s just no substitution for the love and dedication of a mom. So here’s my dedication to mine….

You were there…

When I spoke my first word

When I rode my first plane

When I ate a coconut cookie (that lead to the discovery of my coconut allergy) and passed out.

When I got stung by wasps after picking up a block

When my legs would lock and cause me to fall often

When I traveled back and forth to Chicago for summer vacations by Greyhound

When I rode my first horse

When I enrolled in kindergarten

On my first day to school

When I rode the bus home for the first time

When I made my first mudpie

When I got off the bus for the first time

When I walked in my first parade standing, on the sidewalk cheering me on

When I nearly died from an appendix rupture at the age of 7

For every cheerleader tryout, (which I never got:))

For every Parent/Teacher’s conference and those unexpected pop up meetings

When I got my period at a very young age and had to explain what was happening to me

When I learned how to drive (and the initial how not to drive stage, as well)

When I got dressed for my first, second and third proms:)

When I graduated from high school

When I loss my tonsils

When I obtained my Bachelor’s degree

When I received my promotion for a new job and move to Atlanta metro

When pieces of my neck was replaced

When I gained a husband

When I lost my dad

When I lost my husband

When I regained my footing

When I gained my first child

When I lost my first child

When I regained my strength

When I found my way once again…

So, I guess it’s safe to say. I can be sure of one thing…as long as there’s life in you, I can always count on you to be there no matter how major and/or minor the situation. And I appreciate and love you for it! Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

My mom and me on my first Christmas!

I was around 3 here with my mom. I’m sure I was talking her head off! Just look at her face! Haha!

Me and my mom at my Aunt Linda’s house. We were inseparable! Could you tell I love her?

2 thoughts on “Dedication of a Mom: Vanessa C. Rankins

  1. What a lovely tribute!
    ღ˚ •。* ♥ ˚ ˚✰˚ ˛★* 。 ღ˛° 。* °♥ ˚ • ★ *˚ .ღ 。*˛˚ღ •˚ ˚…Sending sprinkles of Love to You: Happy Mother’s Day! ˚ ✰* ★˚. ★ *˛ ˚♥* ✰。˚ ˚ღ。* ˛˚ ♥ 。✰˚* ˚ ★ღ ˚ 。✰ •* ˚ ♥

Leave a Reply

